EpiGenChlamydia Consortium

At a Glance
  • Status: Completed Consortium
  • Year Launched: 2015
  • Initiating Organization: European Commission Sixth Framework Programme (FP6)
  • Initiator Type: Government
  • Disease focus:
    Chlamydia
  • Location: Europe

Abstract

Mission

The mission of EpiGenGhlamydia is to promote the study of Chlamydia trachomatis infections using an integrated approach based on collaboration between basic scientists, clinicians, epidemiologists, and healthcare policy makers. This translational approach will help to further the valuable insight into the immunopathogenesis of this sexually transmitted infection in order to develop new intervention strategies, including the vaccines and screening programs necessary to effectively diagnose, treat, and prevent C. trachomatis infection, and thereby prevent its long-term complications.

The desire for an integrated approach to the study of C. trachomatis infection of the female genital tract resulted in the creation of the ICTI Consortium in 2005. The EpiGenChlamydia Consortium was one of the follow-up initiatives. Our goal is to gain insight into the susceptibility of and severity to C. trachomatis infection from the host genetic point of view and to use identified host genetic determinants of infection as a diagnostic tool to improve subfertility diagnosis.

Consortium History

The European Union contract was signed, and the Sixth Framework Programme started July 1, 2007, to June 31, 2009.
Oct. 1, 2007: First management meeting was held in Oxford, U.K.
Dec. 12, 2007: Kick-off meeting was held.
Oct. 20-30, 2009: EpiGenChlamydia Training Challenge was held in Oxford, U.K.

Structure & Governance

For this purpose, six interdependent Work Packages have been defined: Epidemiology (to define suitable cohorts in Europe), Genetics and Genomics (to define a single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) chip, based on the complete host and bacterial genomes available), Biobanking and  Data Warehouse (to build a biomedical, ethically allowed, central sample collection and data management system), Research Integration (to streamline all European groups working on immunogenetics and Chlamydial infections in general to gain synergy), Dissemination (to extend and further validate this consortium), and Project Management.

Points of Contact

Consortium Coordinator
Servaas A. Morré, Ph.D.

Sponsors & Partners

Participant no.

Country

Scientific team Member

E-mail accounts

1
(Coordinator)

Netherlands

Servaas Morré
Salvador Peña
Bart Crusius
Chris Meijer
Evert van Leeuwen

samorretravel@yahoo.co.uk
aspena@planet.nl
b.crusius@vumc.nl
djlm.meijer@vumc.nl
e.vanleeuwen@efg.umcn.nl

2

UK

Robin Bailey
David Mabey

robin.bailey@lshtm.ac.uk
david.mabey@lshtm.ac.uk

3

UK

Ioannis Ragoussis
Dominic Kwiatkowski
Richard Mott
Michael Parker

ioannis.ragoussis@well.ox.ac.uk
dominic.kwiatkowski@paediatrics.oxford.ac.uk
rmott@well.ox.ac.uk
michael.parker@ethox.ox.ac.uk

4

Finland

Jorma Paavonen

jorma.paavonen@hus.fi

5

Finland

Heljä-Marja Surcel

helja-marja.surcel@ktl.fi

6

Netherlands

Han Fennema
Henry de Vries

hfennema@ggd.amsterdam.nl
h.j.devries@amc.uva.nl

7

Sweden

Björn Herrmann
Markus Klint

bjorn.herrmann@medsci.uu.se
markus.klint@medsci.uu.se

8

Norway

Björn Baun
Inger Bakken

bjorn.baun@sintef.no
inger.j.bakken@sintef.nl

9

Denmark

Lars Ostergaard
Berit Andersen

oes@sks.aaa.dk
ba@alm.au.dk

10

Netherlands

Tjaco Ossewaarde

j.ossewaarde@erasmusmc.nl

11

Netherlands

Yvonne Pannekoek

y.pannekoek@amc.uva.nl

12

Netherlands

Jan van Bergen

jvanbergen@soaaids.nl

13

Netherlands

Jolande Land

j.a.land@og.umcg.nl

14

Netherlands

Marianne van der Sande

marianne.van.der.sande@rivm.nl

15

USA

Joseph Igietseme
Kevin Fenton

jbi8@cdc.gov
kif2@cdc.gov

16

USA

Joseph Lyons
James Ito

jlyons@coh.org
jito@coh.org

17

Netherlands

Paul Savelkoul

p.savelkoul@vumc.nl

18

UK

Cathy Ison
Mary Macintosh
Scott LaMontagne

catherine.ison@hpa.org.uk
mary.macintosh@hpa.org.uk
scott.lamontagne@gmail.com

19

France

Jean-Francois Schemann

jfschemann@wanadoo.fr

20

Gambia

Ansumana Sillah

ansu_sillah@yahoo.com


Last Updated: 04/14/2016

The Consortia-pedia Catalogue is a living resource, and we are always adding new consortia. Provide information here about your collaboration to apply to be included in the Catalogue.

All the information contained in the Consortia-pedia was collected from publically available sources. Decisions to include or exclude a particular listing from Consortia-pedia were also made on the basis of publically available information and the criteria outlined in the FAQs. This site is intended to be an objective resource for the community, and inclusion does not constitute or imply endorsement, recommendation, or approval by FasterCures or the Milken Institute.